Day 2: Horror Show!

Today I honestly thought I was going to do something web related or educational, in fact I was sure I was going to try to recreate this really cool 3d effect using only CSS and HTML that I found here. Although it is something that I really do want to try to recreate some time, it’s not something I can tackle in one day right now – between my skill level and school work. So I started to check around Smashing for some more ideas and reading some blogs. I was really drained from a bad sleep (I never sleep well) and school today which means I find it really hard to read and get inspired.

I was really starting to get mad when I looked at my tablet and realized I had not used the pen for a long time. So I fired up photoshop and started playing around. I’m not the greatest at just pulling something out of my head and drawing it so I just began making lines and shapes. I absolutely fell in love with the line work I could get out of my experiments but really annoyed that I could not come up with anything to draw. That’s when it hit me and I thought of the perfect subject matter for this style of drawing. I love zombies, anyone who knows me knows this and I have plenty of resource material and inspiration lying around (ok maybe not as much as I would like but enough). So I grab one of my books, opened it up, and used it to get my brain started and my hand moving.

Zombie Eating

I had a lot of fun with this one especially since I have little to no experience drawing and painting in photoshop. I look forward to trying this out many times in the future and I may even do a series of posts of zombies to help get some experience. I hope I can expand my skills in this area because I really did enjoy it, and it’s been a long time since I have used any of my artistic skills and it was starting to get to me. Please let me know what you think, any criticism would also be beneficial so I know what areas I need to improve in and how I can better my skills in this medium.

2 comments so far

  1. Sarah on

    I love this sketch, because its looks like it could be hand drawn but … isn’t Its looks like you also had a lot of fun making it!
    PS. Love the blog so far, keep it up!

  2. Román Cortés on

    I’ve just found your blog from my trackback, and I’ve read about your 365 challenge.

    I had no knowledge about 365 challenges before, and I think it is a really good idea for learning, so I strongly support your effort: don’t leave it, this is going to be a really good thing for you.

    I remember years ago I did some similar things, not for that long, but in the same line of doing-one-thing-every-day. I can tell you that in as little as 30 days, you will notice a very significative quality increase in whatever you do, and in 100 days, you will feel you start to *really* know and understand the activity.

    So… good luck and don’t give up!


Leave a Reply

